The Ring

Choosing the right style for your diamond ring is purely a matter of personal taste. In addition to the many shapes diamonds themselves come in, there are many setting styles to choose. From the traditional and classic to the more modern and fashion forward. Some rings have only a center stone (called a solitaire) while other settings have side stones of various shapes that surround the center stone. Another consideration is the type of precious metal for the setting. Yellow gold, white gold and platinum are popular. Some settings combine both. Whichever you choose, learn the 4 C's.
Learn The 4Cs
Put simply, there are four universally accepted characteristics that all diamonds are graded by. They are known as the 4Cs, and they are Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat weight. It is the
combination of these four “C’s” that determines a diamond’s value. By changing any of the
characteristics, you can dramatically affect the diamond’s value, all other factors being equal.

Understanding Carat Weight
A diamond’s weight is measured in what is known as a ‘carat’, which is a small unit of measurement equal to 200 milligrams. Carat is not a measure of a diamond’s size, since cutting a diamond to different proportions can affect its weight. (The word ‘Karat’ is used to express the purity of gold, and is not used in relation to diamonds.) Here is a diagram that shows the relative size of various carat weights in a diamond that is cut to the same proportions:
Note: the diamonds illustrated are not shown actual size. 
The most important thing to remember when it comes to a diamond’s carat weight is that it is not the only factor that determines a diamond’s value. In other words, bigger does not necessarily mean better. All four Cs—Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat Weight must be balanced in order to arrive at a diamond that fits your budget. None of the 4Cs is mutually exclusive, nor is any one more important than the others.
Understanding Color
The most important thing to know about color when it comes to diamonds is,  the less color a diamond has, the more valuable it is, all factors being equal. Diamonds are found in nature in a wide range of colors from colorless to slightly yellow, to brown. So-called fancy color diamonds are more intense but these are not graded on the same scale.  The color graded system for diamonds uses the letters of the alphabet from D thru Z with "D" being the most colorless and therefore the most valuable. The "Z" has the most color therefore is less valuable.

Understanding Clarity
Another vital grading characteristic in diamonds is their clarity. This refers to the number, position and size of the inclusions that occur naturally inside diamonds. the fewer and less obvious the inclusions, the more valuable the diamond. Clarity has grades and  Diamonds with an F (flawless diamond) shows no inclusions or blemishes of any sort under 10X magnification when observed by an experience grader is the most valuable and extremely rare.

Understanding Cut
The only one of the 4C's that is within our control is a diamond's cut. Cut is the result of a craftsman's skill in transforming a rough diamond into a breathtaking gem. A diamond has facets that allow light to enter it, become refracted, and exit in a rainbow of colors. So it follows that a better cut diamond does a better job of dazzling us with its beauty. This is an FYI. For details on diamonds see the on-site experts.

Note: Know before you Go and Shop for affordability!

No comments:

Post a Comment

So glad you stopped by, let me hear from you!